Schulenburg Population- 3,024  Altitude- 344


Spring in SchulenburgSchulenburg was established in 1873 when GH&SA Railroad (now part of Southern Pacific) was moving west.  The town was named for Louis Schulenburg who donated land for a depot.  Schulenburg is a German word meaning "school castle". (Castle being a castle that was built for defense and not for living, from the Old High German "burg", fortress.) Over the years, as the original German heritage and language have become forgotten in Central Texas, many people mistakenly call Schulenburg "school town".

German-Czech heritage is reflected in the city's eating establishments.

Wolters Park, at the south end of Bohlmann Street, includes areas for picnicking and other convenient facilities.  Wolters Park also includes Jacob Wolters' 1835 log cabin.

Schulenburg lies along the Texas Pioneer Trail covering a four county region.  The town is noted for many historic buildings, homes, historical markers and its lovely charm.  

Chamber of Commerce at 101 - B Kessler Avenue (U.S. 77) has information and map.

Painted Churches Driving Tour -

St. Mary's Church on Schulenburg's Painted Churches TourHand painted murals, frescoes and other historic art offer much beauty and a wonderful opportunity to experience the rich cultural heritage of Schulenburg.  A map and brochure describes rural churches in Dubina, Ammannsville, Praha, St. John's and several more communities.  Both are available free from the Chamber of Commerce. 

Tours are self guided.  Docents are available by appointment Monday - Saturday for groups of 15 or more.

Schulenburg Historical Museum -

Exhibits depict life in early days of this rural German-Czech community.

Open Sunday 1 - 4 p.m.  At 631 North Main Street.



Back to the top