The original town of Hico was founded in 1856 on Honey Creek, a most
picturesque and historical stream that flows into the Bosque River. Hico was named by J.R.
Alford, after his old home town of Hico, Kentucky. In 1880 the Texas Central Railroad was
built through Hamilton County. Hico was approximately two and one half miles from the
railroad. Officials proposed that the town be moved to the railroad.
On November 11, 1880, an auction was held to sell the first lots for the new location of
Hico. Soon the only remains of Old Hico were a corn mill and cotton gin. The mill and gin
were torn down in 1930, and the rocks from these two buildings were used to build the
present school gym and the marker of Old Hico.
The early settlers were faced with many hardships. There were many Indian raids. Once
Indians stole 11 saddle horses. Another incident involving Indians occurred when several
men and boys from Hico went on a cow hunt at Blue Ridge, near Hamilton. Some Indians rode
up and killed two of the men. The Indians chased the other members of the party. The
settlers also had to deal with many cattle thieves.
In the Fall of 1890 there were two disastrous fires. The first destroyed the entire east
side of Pecan Street. A few weeks later the west side was also destroyed. The citizens,
not daunted saw a vision of a bigger and better Hico, and they immediately began the
erection of handsome, commodious structures to replace the older and smaller ones. These
made the town assume the proportions and appearance of a magnificent little city.
Shortly after the turn of the century, Hico was buying and shipping more grain than all
other towns combined on the Texas Central Railroad. According to early day reports, by
1907, more cotton was bought right off wagons on main street than in any town in the
world. By 1908 Hico received 25,000 to 40,000 bales of cotton a year.
There were 95 businesses including a candy factory, six hotels, a broom factory and ten
grocery stores. Recreation in the early period of Hico included an Opera House, the Palace
Theater and a Roller Rink which was located south of the railroad depot under a tent.
As with most small towns, as rural America declined and the railroads started
disappearing, Hico also went from a striving town to a small community of farmers and
ranchers. Now Hico is once again growing with new business and interest. Although Old Hico
and its people are gone now they have left a vivid imprint on the future of Hico. They
have set an example for all future generations. They proved that although there are many
hardships in life, in order to create something lasting and worthwhile one must learn to
stand up and overcome these hardships. The citizens of Hico will continue to always dream
of something bigger and better, and will always have pride in their town.
The Hico Legend of Billy The Kid
A controversial story click here for Hico's Version :)
In 1950, an El Paso reporter recorded an interview with Mrs. Mardle Ables, she was
quoted having said that she had seen and talked to Billy the Kid the day before. She
further stated that he was living under the alias of Ollie Roberts,nicknamed Brushy Bill.
Billy The Kid Museum
According to Hico legend, Billy the kid was NOT killed by Pat Garett, but rather died of a heart attack on rout to the Hico
post office, at the ripe age of 90. No matter how Ollie L. "Brushy Bill"
Roberts, alias William Bonnie, a.k.a "Billy the Kid", died, the legend lives on.
This museum features memorabilia. Hours are: Friday through Sunday, noon til 4 p.m. Phone:
Texas Hoedown at the Timber Creek Ranch
Experience ranch life at timber creek. Horse back riding, camp
outs, hayrides, saddlebag lunches, sunset champagne rides, and more. For information, call (817)364-2676