PARIS Pop. 26,168 Alt. 592


Founded 1839 on divide between Red and Sulphur Rivers, became seat of Lamar County in 1844, settled by diverse frontier society including Sam Beff Maxey (see below), West Point graduate, attorney and Confederate general. Retired outlaw Frank James (brother of Jesse James)who clerked in a local dry goods store. Home of John Chisum, who became one of the West's foremost cattle barons. Notorious frontier outlaw queen, Belle Starr, tended a farm near town. The Paris Visitors and Convention Council at 1651 Clarksville St. will provide walking and driving tour maps that include some 34 points of interest, including the 1920s downtown architecture and historic sites. The Council also has information on private art, the Hayden Museum of American Art, which is open by appointment. Stop by for information, or call (903)784-2501, or call 1-800-PARIS TX (727-4789).

M. and Welma Aikin Archives -

Today a commercial/marketing center for fertile agricultural region: home of Pads junior College.

Replica of Senator Aikin's Austin office; mementos of his 46-year career, much of which was devoted to Texas education; also historical archives for Delta, Fannin, Lamar, and Red River Counties. Open Mon. - Thurs. 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Fri. 8 a.m. - noon. In Mike Rheudasil Learning Center, Paris junior College. For information, call (903)784-9411.

Evergreen Cemetery-

Dating from 1866, large cemetery contains more than 40,000 graves, including many early Texas patriots. Many unusual, handsome carved headstones and monuments. S. Church St. at Jefferson Rd. Lakes-Crook and Pat Mayse.

Sam Bell Maxey Historic StructureSam Bell Maxey State Historic Structure-

Gem of Victorian architecture built by Confederate General Maxey 1868, occupied by family for almost a century. Restored and furnished as state historic site. The Maxeys were avid gardeners; restoration includes landscaped grounds and small Victorian garden in original dimensions. Guided tours Wed. - Fri. by appointment; Sat. Sun, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. Closed Mon. & Tues. 812 S. Church St.; admission. For information, (903)785-5716.


Back to the top